INTERNATIONAL WORKSHOP – Climate-Resilient Urban Design – NAPOLI October 4-12 2018


Climate change impacts are already visible today, with extreme heat and precipitation events increasingly growing in frequency and intensity worldwide. Urban climate must be a key consideration in the planning and design of contemporary cities. Climate resilient principles need thus to be integrated in the design process as a knowledge area linked to architectural disciplines. The issue of climate resilience in urban areas requires the development of innovative design methods that can handle the complexity of the information needed to guide sustainable urban regeneration and retrofitting strategies, as well as to manage the technological and environmental solutions in a multi-scale perspective. Cities represent in this sense the main field of experimentation of innovative and climate-resilient design principles and methods. The workshop goal is to explore integrated design strategies for creating sustainable and resilient communities that can adapt and thrive in the changing global conditions, meet carbon-reduction goals, provide new public spaces and facilities in relation to community priorities, by configuring or retrofitting compact and mixed-use eco-districts. The proposed design method is process-oriented and focuses on sequential and iterative steps bringing to projects’ implementation through a multi-disciplinary and multiscale approach.

// Universities
– UNINA Università di Napoli Federico II
– NYIT New York Institute of Technology
– UPEM Université Paris Est Marne La Vallée
– PUC P. Universidad Católica de Chile

// Scientific Committee
Mario Losasso (UNINA); Jeffrey Raven (NYIT); Bruno Barroca (UPEM); Mattia Leone (UNINA); Giulio Zuccaro (UNINA); Michael Esposito (Atelier Ten); Enza Tersigni (UNINA); Margot Pellegrino (UPEM); Renato D’Alençon (PUC); Roberto Moris Iturrieta (PUC); Cristina Visconti (PUC)

// Mentors
UNINA: Anita Bianco, Ensi Farrokhirad, Giovanni Nocerino, Sara Verde NYIT: Shenger Dai; Farcia Celine Soares UPEM: Helin Karaman NEEDLE: Salvatore Diana, Danilo Sironi, Saverio Sodano, Stefano Cuntò, Feliciano Napolitano, Antonio Pone


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.